NaNoWriMo Update – Day 2

Today marked the second day of the month long challenge NaNoWriMo. So far this year I am doing great, better than expected in fact. It’s amazing the difference between this year and last. Last year I stumbled through the first twenty thousand words with no real direction and it took me close to half a month to get that much done. It wasn’t until near the end that I finally figured things out and plowed through the words. This year I have wrote at least three thousand words each day so far. Planning things out helped immensely.

Last year I wrote by the seat of my pants and I learned very quickly that I am most definitely a planned not a pantser. So this year I spent weeks, if not a couple of months planning out my novel. Writing up character sheets, drawing maps, figuring out timelines, outlines and jotting down details that may or may not eventually make it into the novel. I must say, it has made my writing so much more enjoyable this time around. There is no more panic filled writing that has really no reason behind it other than word count. I know exactly what needs to be done next and that is what I do.

So at this rate the site predicts I will hit my fifty thousand word goal by the sixteenth of the month. That is if I don’t have a day where I do either a larger amount of writing or do only the minimal amount of words. Either way NaNoWriMo looks to be like it will be successful once again and I am looking forward to getting this initial rough draft done. More updated to come soon. I think I will aim for a weekly Wedneday update on my writing unless something spectacular comes along and prompts me to post before that. Good luck to all the other NaNoers out there and keep those words coming!

Leave a Reply

