NaNoWriMo Update and Colds

Well here it is Wednesday again already. That means it’s time to present my update on my NaNoWriMo progress. So far things are still going smoothly for my word count. As I mentioned in my previous post I was invited to play in the Star Wars: The Old Republic beta over the weekend. I had planned and did write a buffer of words so that should I not have the time to write over the weekend I wouldn’t be far behind. Well that buffer served me well however I was still able to write over the three days of beta during times when the server was taken down to fix things, during queue times of waiting to get into the server and also during times when I was waiting for my group to get to a certain area or dungeon so we could plow through it. I managed to average over two thousand words each day during my beta experience, and that is on top of the buffer I wrote the days before it started. All in all I’m pretty happy with how the weekend went both writing and beta wise.

A short note on my beta experience, though I can’t really talk about it too much. I just have to say that game is amazing. So much better than World of Warcraft. The graphics were amazing, the game play smooth and it had a really good story line to it. Unlike WoW I didn’t feel like I was wasting my time traveling in between quests and being repeatedly sent to the same area over and over again. I give this game two very big thumbs up and cannot wait until it’s official release next month.

Now back to my writing. Though I have remained several days ahead on my word count since starting I allowed myself to slack off a bit yesterday. I didn’t like it, I hate the feeling I get when I don’t write, however I’m clearly coming down with something so my brain wasn’t entirely working. I wrote all of 64 words yesterday, certainly not the worse I could have done but far from reaching the daily goal. Today again I am feeling pretty darn crappy, however I am going to force myself to write what is needed for today so that if/when this cold gets worse and I actually do need to take a day or two off because of it I won’t fall behind.

For now I shall retreat under a pile of blankets in front of the TV and have some chicken noodle soup. Tonight shall be my writing time before I hit the sack for a hopefully good nights worth of sleep.

Leave a Reply

