Book Review: The Awakening

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I am struggling to find the words as to why I enjoyed this book so much. I started reading it this morning and eight hours later I was done. In reality it took me about four to five of those hours to actually read the book, the rest were filled with various life distractions. It takes a well written book to grab my attention so tightly that I read it in a single day. The magic that Apryl Baker spun within the book captivated me in a way I can not describe. For several chapters I was wondering just what this book had in store for me, and when the answer was revealed I was honestly surprised and pleased by it. I will admit I am not a huge fan of shifters (let’s face it, there are far too many werewolf type books out there) but I didn’t seem it mind it in this book. Perhaps it was the way it was presented.

The one thing I didn’t enjoy so much was the love triangle, or should I call it a love octagon, as there were so many various people involved in Alexandria’s life and a good majority of them were vying for her attention and love in various ways. That part I probably could have done without, however, I can see how it works for the story and stripping that away would leave a lot of holes to be filled.

Overall this book was a great read and the only reason I gave it four stars instead of five was because of that love octagon. Either way I will certainly look forward to the next book in the series coming out and hope they are just as good as this one was.

View all my reviews at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

