Top Ten Tuesday – Books On My Summer To Read List

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Though my To Be Read List is ever growing and priorities of what to read next shift with every new book acquired I will list the ten books I am currently most excited to read this summer. Hopefully I will read them all before I choose to read anything else, but only time will tell.

1. Rhapsody by Elizabeth Haydon – I am currently about half way through this book and loving it so far. For many months it has been taunting me on GoodReads as a book that kept coming up in recommendations based upon what I have read and what I plan to read. So when I saw the entire series at a used book store I just couldn’t say no.

2. Kushiel’s Chosen by Jacqueline Carey – After reading Kushiel’s Dart earlier this month I was dying to get my hands on the next book in the series. Not knowing what was going to happen next was grating on my every moment that book was not yet in my possession. So  I have started reading it current, which is odd for me as I rarely read more than one book at a time, and I am having a tough time putting it down.

3. Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry – This has been on my to read list for some time now. I am an avid reader and lover of westerns, both in  books and movies, but until recently was unable to get my hands on a copy of this book.

4. The Wrangler by Lindsay McKenna – I won a copy of this book through a giveaway on GoodReads, which prompted me to read the prequel in the series The Last Cowboy. After reading the prior book I am been longing to have this book in my hands, I have not yet received it in the mail yet but the moment I do I know I will start reading it immediately.

5. Dragonsdawn by Anne McCaffrey – This book was recommended to me by my best friend. Though it is the ninths book in the Pern series she said it is chronologically the best place to start as it explains how the dragons came to bond with the humans.

6. Captive Queen by Alison Weir – I will buy any book by Alison Weir, her writing is amazing and every book she writes draws me in right from the beginning. Though I bought this book nearly a year ago it was relegated to a tucked away bookshelf until recently. Now I am counting the days until I can get my hands on this.

7. Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flag – I loved the movie Fried Green Tomatoes, so it has been my goal for quite some time to read this book. It is a classic and will finally be given the attention it deserves this summer.

8. World of Warcraft: Jaina Proudmoore: Tides of War by Christie Golden – This book I preordered last year and though it won’t come out until late August I am already impatiently awaiting it’s arrival. Having read nearly all the other World of Warcraft books and having played the MMO for over five years I am interested to see what this story has in store for me.

9. Watership Down by Richard Adams – Though I read this book easily ten years ago I have been thinking about it lately. Since the story is quite faded from my memory I have decided to re-read it.

10. Hard Country by Michael McGarrity – I’ve read good things about this book and as a great lover of westerns it is my duty to read this book. I’m just torn between getting the hardcover version or the Kindle version. I’ll have to make my choice at some point I suppose.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books On My Summer To Read List

Leave a Reply

