Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we are listing the top ten favorite books we have read since we started our blogs. I started this blog just over a year ago in July 2011, nd those Ionly started to post reviews of books back in May of this year, I’ll work with books read in the last year.

  1. Fried Green Tomatoes At The Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flag. This was a book I’ve wanted to read for many years. I loved the movie and I have to save I loved the book even more. Gave a great deal of background on many characters as well as showed those who were not in the movie version. A must read for those who enjoyed the movie.
  2. Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey. This novel was downright amazing. Such great writing and a story that makes you never want to put the book down until you are done. The remainder of the series has been added to my to read list.
  3. Grasping At Eternity by Karen Amanda Hooper. I was provided with a copy of this book by the author to review and let me say I was glad that she did. This book was amazing and I cannot wait until the next one in the series comes out next year.
  4. Rhapsody: Child of Blood by Elizabeth Haydon. After having it recommended to me on several sites and by several people I decided to pick up this series. Rhapsody was great even if it did have a slow part near the beginning. Looking forward to finishing off the rest of the series.
  5. If You Ask Me by Betty White. Who doesn’t love Betty White? While this is not her first biography it did give lots of information about her life and was a great little read.
  6. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. While I loved all three books in this series I still think The Hunger Games was the best among them. It really brought you into the world and had so much happening it was hard to put down.
  7. The Last Cowboy by Lindsay Mckenna. My first experience in the romance genre and I was pleasantly surprised. It certainly helped to open the door to romance novels for me and I plan to read the rest of this series.
  8. Captive Queen: A Novel of Eleanor of Aquitaine by Alison Weir. I have a great love of the history of England, especially this time period, so I was quick to pick this book up when I saw it. A great read and it does paint an interesting picture of what life was like for Eleanor and of the trials she went through.
  9. The Book of Deacon by Joseph Lallo. This book I picked up for free from Amazon. I’m certainly glad that I did. While I admit it had some parts that had me shaking my head, overall this was a great book and so the rest of the trilogy is on my to read list.
  10. The Woman Who Loved Jesse James by Cindi Myers. The story of the outlaw Jesse James has always been of fascination to me. So when I saw this book available for review I jumped at the opportunity. Though it is written from the perspective of his wife and cousin, Zee (Mimms) James, it does shed some light on his life as well and the struggles of living as an outlaw brought to their family.
Leave a Reply

