NaNoWriMo Prep Time

In a little over a month NaNoWriMo will be starting up once more. This yearly event that happens every November, and now more recently June and August thanks to their summer version, gives writers the opportunity to challenge themselves and truly write when there may have been distractions and reasons not to. For the month f November writers will attempt to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.

This will be the third year I have been participating in NaNoWriMo and I am very much looking forward to it. I’m hoping to keep up with my winning streak, though I won’t go into my failures with the summer version of this challenge, and once again hit my 50,000 word goal.

Though I have a month before this starts I’ve already begun to work on planning what I will be doing this year. Yesterday I pulled out my notes and files from last year and began seeing what I had got done, what had been changed from the original plan as time went on and what needs to happen next. The plan was to write the second novel in a series, the first of which I wrote during last years challenge. Knowing I would need a quick refresher on where I left off last year I took the time to read over things. Then an idea hit me, a great and wonderful idea. So I began frantically writing it down not wanting to lose it. A good thing right? Wrong!

The problem? It had nothing to do with my plan for this year and was in fact the makings of a new novel. Dang! The thing is, I knew that if I didn’t give this idea some attention, and it’s still currently nagging me for more, than come November I wouldn’t be able to concentrate on what I wanted to write because this other idea would be shoving it’s way into the light. So for now, I’m jotting down these ideas and hoping I have enough time before NaNoWriMo starts to work out a plan for my intended writing project.

My other small project before NaNoWriMo starts is to do a massive amount of reading so that during the month of November I still have book reviews to post in amid the NaNoWriMo updates since nearly all of my time that month will be devoted to writing and not reading. I have a list of books that take top priority for this, namely those I was send for the purpose of reviewing and have already begun to work down that list, I am hoping I can get them all done by October 31st.

Will you be participating in NaNoWriMo this year? Do you know what you will be writing or are you a write by the seat of your pants type?

Leave a Reply

